The Griffin Poetry Prize Announces the 2006 Canadian and International Shortlist

An Unprecedented 441 Eligible Books Submitted

TORONTO – April 5, 2006 – Scott Griffin, founder of The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry and David Young, trustee, today announced the Canadian and International shortlist for this year’s prize. The C$100,000 Griffin Poetry Prize is the most lucrative prize to accept books of poetry from any country in the world – exemplifying the international spirit of the form. The prize is awarded annually for the two best books of poetry, including translations, published in English in the previous year.

An extraordinary 441 eligible books from 15 countries around the globe, translated from 20 different languages, were submitted for 2006. The seven finalists – three Canadian and four International – will be invited to read in Toronto at the MacMillan Theatre on Wednesday, May 31, 2006. The winners, who each receive C$50,000, will be announced on Thursday, June 1, 2006 at the sixth Griffin Poetry Prize awards evening.

The judges for 2006 are the distinguished poets Lavinia Greenlaw (United Kingdom), Lisa Robertson (Canada) and Eliot Weinberger (United States of America).

Each year, the Griffin Poetry Prize publishes an anthology, a selection of poems from the shortlisted books, published by House of Anansi Press Inc. Royalties from the Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology are donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day.

The Griffin Poetry Prize was launched in September, 2000 by trustees Margaret Atwood, Carolyn Forché, Scott Griffin, Robert Hass, Michael Ondaatje, Robin Robertson and David Young. Each year, the trustees are responsible for selecting the judges for the prize.

The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry was created to serve and encourage poetry written in English anywhere in the world. Eligible collections of poetry, including translations, must be submitted by publishers no later than December 31 in the calendar year of their publication.

Tickets for the Readings to be held on Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at the MacMillan Theatre are available at or by calling 905-565-5993.

– 30 –

Note: The publishers mentioned in our release are those who submitted the books.

Note to booksellers: Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist posters and stickers are supplied free of charge by The Griffin Trust. Click here to access our order form. Winner stickers will be available after June 1st.

Please direct other inquiries as follows:

Press and Publicity

Elana Rabinovitch

June Dickenson

General Inquiries

Ruth Smith, Manager

Submitting Publishers’ Web sites:

Brick Books

Coach House Books

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

House of Anansi Press

New Directions

Wesleyan University Press

Shortlist summary, poet bios and citations

Download press release | Download photos

Purchase 2006 Griffin Prize Anthology and shortlist books online

Return to the News Release index.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *