2013 Coverage

See also 2014 press coverage.

The following are highlights of the latest media coverage of the Griffin Poetry Prize and its principals.

Note: Some of the links included here require publication subscriptions or registrations.

June 14, 2013
McFadden wins Griffin Poetry Prize
by Julie Baldassi

Canadian poet David McFadden briefly took to the stage at last night’s Griffin Poetry Prize gala to accept the $65,000 award – the richest in the world for a single book of poetry – for his latest collection, What’s the Score?, published by Toronto’s Mansfield Press.

“It’s an unexpected honour, and I’m thrilled to the bone,” he told a crowd gathered in the atrium of the Corus Entertainment building on Toronto’s waterfront.

June 14, 2013
The Griffin Poetry Prize Winners Are In!!

And they are (in the International Poetry category): Like a Straw Bird It Follows Me, and Other Poems, by Ghassan Zaqtan, and translated by Fady Joudah … And in the Canadian Poetry column: What’s the Score?, by David McFadden, takes home the prize.

above/ground press
June 14, 2013
David W. McFadden wins the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize!

Last night, Christine McNair and I were fortunate enough to witness Toronto poet David W. McFadden win the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize for his poetry collection, What’s the Score? (Toronto ON: Mansfield Press, 2012). Congratulations to David, editor Stuart Ross, and publisher Denis de Klerck!

June 14, 2013
David W. McFadden wins Griffin Prize for poetry

Attendees at Griffin Poetry Prize gala discuss why poetry is an important artform in modern society

June 13, 2013
David W. McFadden, Ghassan Zaqtan and Fady Joudah win Griffin Poetry Prize
by Mark Medley

Over the last several years, a pattern has emerged when it comes to the Canadian winner of the Griffin Poetry Prize.

Last year’s winner, Ken Babstock, was previously shortlisted in 2007. Dionne Brand, who won in 2011 for her collection, Ossuaries, was first nominated in 2003. The 2010 winner, Karen Solie, was up for the prize in 2002.

It has become rare for a poet to win on his or her first attempt.

June 11, 2013
Op-Ed: Why the Griffin Poetry Prize is so important
by KJ Mullins

Since 2000 the Griffin Trust has been funding the Griffin Prize, a celebration of poetry and poets. This week Torontorians will be treated to the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist Readings and the announcement of the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize Winners.

But the prize is more than a contest….

June 8, 2013
Griffin Prize

Ian Williams is shortlisted for the $65,000 award given out this week. Jelena Adzic explains.

June 7, 2013
Ian Williams: Poet seeking reader
by Mark Medley

There was a period when Ian Williams, at the time a professor of English Studies at Fitchburg State University, in Massachusetts, would spend his lunch hour, or the minutes between classes, trolling the personal ads on Craigslist. He’d scour the serendipitous postings on Missed Connections and the sometimes X-rated appeals on Casual Encounters, where those seeking a clandestine hook-up go in search of willing partners.

He was not looking for a relationship, but conducting research for a book of poetry.

April 9, 2013
Griffin shortlist features newcomers Pollock, Williams
by Stuart Woods

In a year that boasted collections from A.F. Moritz, Don McKay, and Roo Borson, the jury for this year’s Griffin Poetry Prize (which covers books published in 2012) has opted to put the spotlight on several lesser-known poets.

April 9, 2013
Finalists announced in lucrative Griffin Poetry Prize
Seven finalists from two divisions — international and Canadian — up for prestigious prize
by Greg Quill

Seven finalists in two divisions — International and Canadian — of the prestigious annual Griffin Poetry Prize were announced in Toronto Monday after the three-person jury selected them from 509 volumes of poetry published in 40 countries, including 15 translations.

With a purse of $65,000 for each of the division winners, the Griffin is among the most prestigious and lucrative poetry awards in the world.

April 9, 2013
Griffin Poetry Prize unveils 2013 short list
Seven poets in the running for lucrative international poetry honour
The Canadian Press

Canadian poets David W. McFadden, James Pollock and Ian Williams are competing for the lucrative Griffin Poetry Prize.

The prize — created by businessman Scott Griffin — awards $65,000 each year to an international poet and a Canadian one.

April 9, 2013
No obvious standouts on Griffin short list
by John Barber

The best thing about the recently nominated group of poets competing for the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize is that there are no obvious stars among them, according to prize patron Scott Griffin.

See also 2012 press coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *