2016 Shortlist

See also 2017 Shortlist.

International Shortlist | Canadian Shortlist | Anthology | Photo Gallery

Click any book title to purchase that book online.
Click a poet’s name or picture for biographies, judges’ citations and poetry excerpts.

Announcing the 2016 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist

International Shortlist

Norman Dubie International Winner
Book: The Quotations of Bone
Poet: Norman Dubie
Publisher: Copper Canyon Press
Joy Harjo Book: Conflict Resolution for Holy Beings
Poet: Joy Harjo
Publisher: W.W. Norton & Company
Don Paterson Book: 40 Sonnets
Poet: Don Paterson
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Rowan Ricardo Phillips Book: Heaven
Poet: Rowan Ricardo Phillips
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Back to top

Canadian Shortlist

Frayed Opus for Strings & Wind Instruments by Ulrikka S. Gernes, translated by Per Brask and Patrick Friesen Book: Frayed Opus for Strings & Wind Instruments
Translators: Per Brask and Patrick Friesen
Poet: Ulrikka S. Gernes
Publisher: Brick Books
Liz Howard Canadian Winner
Book: Infinite Citizen of the Shaking Tent
Poet: Liz Howard
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Soraya Peerbaye Book: Tell: poems for a girlhood
Poet: Soraya Peerbaye
Publisher: Pedlar Press
Back to top


The Griffin Poetry Prize 2016 Anthology

Edited by Adam Sol

House of Anansi Press

Royalties from The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology will be donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day, created to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression, and to offer endangered languages the opportunities to be heard in their communities.

Back to top

Griffin Poetry Prize 2016 Photo Gallery

Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content

Click the center of the large image for a more detailed view and description.

Please contact webmaster@griffinpoetryprize.com if we have missed anyone’s names in picture captions. Thank you!

Photo credits: Tom Sandler Photography

Back to top

Photo credits:
Norman Dubie, by Matt Valentine
Liz Howard, by Ralph Kolewe
Don Paterson, by Murdo Macleod
Rowan Ricardo Phillips, by Sue Kwon

See also 2015 Shortlist.